be smart. know the law.

find your state

Hemp products are legal in Nebraska.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

N/A

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

N/A

Cost for a Medical License

N/A

How much can you grow?

N/A

Fines / Cost

N/A

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A

Medicinal, Recreational and Hemp products are legal in Nevada.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

"Adults ages 21 years and older can legally possess no more than one ounce (1 oz.), or 28.35 grams, of cannabis, or one-eighth ounce (0.125 oz), or 3.54 grams, of marijuana concentrates. The limit for legal possession in any 14-day period is no more than two-and-one-half ounces (2.5 oz), or 70.87 grams, for medical cannabis patients and caregivers."

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), Cancer, Glaucoma, Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), Cachexia (general physical wasting and malnutrition from chronic disease), Persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis), Seizures (including epilepsy), Severe nausea, Severe pain (the most commonly reported condition), Additional conditions, subject to approval by the Division.

Cost for a Medical License

$149 for a 1-year Medical Card $199 for a 2-year Medical Card

How much can you grow?

"Adults can grown up to six (6) plants per person and up to 12 plants per household for personal adult use. Patients and caregivers can grow up to 12 plants for medical purposes. Nevertheless, adults, patients, and caregivers can only legally grow if there is not a state-licensed marijuana retailer or dispensary within 25 miles of their home."

Fines / Cost

A person who smokes or otherwise consumes marijuana in a public place, in a retail marijuana store, or as a passenger in a moving vehicle is guilty of a misdemeanor punished by a fine of not more than $600

Consumption Rules

Cannabis consumption is for private use only. It is illegal to smoke in public, on federal land or in a vehicle without risking a fine. Cannabis may not be used in any moving vehicle whether you are the driver or passenger, as it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



NRS 453.554 Nevada law defines drug paraphernalia as any equipment, product, material or object of any kind used to introduce an illegal controlled substance into the human body by planting, cultivating, growing, propagating, harvesting, manufacturing, compounding, preparing, testing, converting, analyzing, packaging, producing, repackaging, storing, containing, injecting, ingesting, concealing, or inhaling the substance.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



Having a Medical Marijuana card allows patients to purchase medical marijuana and provides patients legal protection against state prosecution for possession, production or delivery of marijuana and possession of paraphernalia. The law also protects non-cardholders in the vicinity of someone legally using medical marijuana.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than legalized marijuana) is a civil offense.



It is only a misdemeanor in Nevada to use drug paraphernalia or to possess drug paraphernalia with intent to use it. The sentence carries:



- Up to six months in jail, and/or

- Up to $1,000 in fines



These same penalties apply for intentionally advertising drug paraphernalia as well.



 

Learn More

Reference Websites:



http://marijuana.nv.gov/



http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/MM-Patient-Cardholder-Registry/MM_Patient_Cardholder_Registry_-_Home/



drgreenrelief.com/blog/medical-marijuana-and-guns/



https://www.gunstocarry.com/gun-laws-state/nevada-gun-laws/



legalmann.com/drug-charges/possession-of-drug-paraphernalia/





https://www.shouselaw.com/nevada/paraphernalia.html

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in New Hampshire.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

2 ounces during 10-day period

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Cancer, glaucoma, HIV (human immunodeficiency virus) / AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome), hepatitis C, ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis), muscular dystrophy, Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, multiple sclerosis, chronic pancreatitis, a spinal cord injury or disease, a traumatic brain injury, Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, intractable pain, Parkinson’s Disease, PTSD or one or more injuries that significantly interferes with a patient’s daily activities as documented by the patient’s licensed medical practitioner.

Cost for a Medical License

50

How much can you grow?

6 mature marijuana plants and 12 seedlings

Fines / Cost

up to $300,000

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in New Jersey.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

2 ounces

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

seizure disorders, including epilepsy, intractable skeletal muscular spasticity, or glaucoma;
HIV/AIDS or cancer, if chronic or severe pain, severe nausea or vomiting, cachexia or wasting syndrome results from the condition or treatment thereof;
PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder);
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease), multiple sclerosis, severe muscle spasms, terminal cancer, muscular dystrophy, ulcerative colitis, or inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease;
Terminal illness, if the physician has determined a prognosis of fewer than 12 months of life.
Anxiety
Chronic pain related to musculoskeletal disorders
Chronic pain of visceral origin
Migraine
Tourette’s syndrome

Cost for a Medical License

200

How much can you grow?

not allowed

Fines / Cost

up to $300,000

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in New Mexico.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

A qualifying patient or caregiver has access to ​no more than eight ounces (8 oz.), or 226.8 grams, of usable cannabis over over a three (3)-month period.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Anorexia/cachexia Arthritis Cancer Cervical dystonia Chronic pain Crohn's disease Epilepsy Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Hospice patients Huntington's disease Intractable nausea/vomiting Huntington's disease Multiple sclerosis Painful peripheral neuropathy Parkinson's disease Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Spinal cord damage

Cost for a Medical License

$100, dicounted to $20 for elderly

How much can you grow?

Personal Production Licensed (PPL) patients and designated primary caregivers are allowed cultivate up to 16 marijuana plants with four mature and 12 seedlings on any property owned by the patient.

Fines / Cost

Under 1 oz.: petty misdemeanor, 15 days and $50-$100; 1-8 oz.: misdemeanor, 1 yr. and $100-$1000; Over 8 oz.: 4th degree felony; Subsequent offense: Under 1 oz.: misdemeanor, 1 yr., $100-$1000 Exceptions: A qualified patient or patient’s caregiver shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner for the possession of or the medical use of cannabis if the quantity of cannabis does not exceed an adequate supply.

Consumption Rules

Medical cannabis consumption in the state of New Mexico is limited to private property, out of the public view.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for medical marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Drug paraphernalia is any equipment that is associated with an illegal substance or that can be used to distribute/sell that illegal substance. This can include things like opium pipes, water pipes, vials, hypodermic needles (when there is no medical necessity for them), miniature spoons, etc. It can also include items that are used to manufacture or package the products, such as plastic bags, growing materials, weighing machines, etc.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



The drug paraphernalia penalties do not apply to registered patients who are authorized to possess marijuana for medical patients.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than legalized marijuana) is considered as a misdemeanor worthy of up to a year in prison and a fine of $50 to $100.



ADDITIONAL COMMENTS



It is unlawful for a person to use or possess with intent to use drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled substance in violation of the Controlled Substances Act. The provisions of this subsection do not apply to a person who is in possession of hypodermic syringes or needles at the time he is directly and immediately engaged in a harm reduction program, as provided in the Harm Reduction Act.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



nmhealth.org/publication/view/regulation/126/





https://law.justia.com/codes/new-mexico/2011/chapter30/article31/section30-31-25.1/

Learn More

Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal and consumption in a vehicle is not allowed, neither while driving nor while riding as passengers.



https://nmhealth.org/about/mcp/svcs/fad/



 

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in New York.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Under the Compassionate Care Act, registered patients are legally allowed to possess a 30-day supply at any given time. The quantity of a patient’s 30-day supply is based on the recommendations received from their licensed physician.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) Any condition for which an opioid could be prescribed Cancer Chronic pain Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity Epilepsy Huntington's disease Inflammatory Bowel Disease Multiple sclerosis (MS) Neuropathy Opioid Use Disorder (only if enrolled in a certified treatment program) Parkinson's disease Positive status for HIV or AIDS Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Cost for a Medical License

50

How much can you grow?

The state does not allow medical marijuana patients or caregivers to cultivate cannabis plants. Only state-approved growers are allowed to grow cannabis.

Fines / Cost

Up to 25 grams - civil violation that incurs fines but no jail time 25 grams to 2 ounces - up to three months in jail and/or $500 fine 2 to 8 ounces - up to one year in jail and/or $1,000 fine 8 to 16 ounces - 1-4 years in prison and/or up to $5,000 fine (mandatory prison time for second offenses) 16 ounces to 10 pounds - 1-7 years in prison and/or up to $5,000 fine (mandatory prison time for second offenses) 10 pounds or more - 1-15 years in prison and/or up to $5,000 fine (mandatory prison time for second offenses)

Consumption Rules

It is illegal to vaporize approved medical cannabis products in any public or commercial space where public health law prohibits smoking. It is also illegal to vaporize a medical marijuana product within one hundred feet (100 ft.), or 30.48 meters, of the entrances, exits, or outdoor areas of any public or private school, unless within private property.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for medical marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



What is Drug Paraphernalia?

A wide variety of different equipment can be considered drug paraphernalia including any items or products which are designed to be used in manufacturing drugs; compounding or converting narcotics; concealing drugs; processing or producing drugs for use; or injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing controlled substances into the body.



Examples of objects that could be considered drug paraphernalia include:



- Pipes, including metal pipes, acrylic or glass pipes, stone pipes, plastic pipes, ceramic pipes, water pipes, and chillums which are cone-shaped pipes used for marijuana or hash.

- Miniature spoons.

- Roach clips.

- Cigarette papers.

- its used to freebase cocaine.



Not all of these objects are illegal, in-and-of themselves.  There is no law which prohibits the use of a pipe or cigarette papers to smoke tobacco. However, if there is drug residue or if there is other evidence to suggest the products were used  or intended for the ingestion of controlled substances, a prosecutor may bring charges for possession of drug paraphernalia.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



The drug paraphernalia penalties do not apply to registered patients who are authorized to possess marijuana for medical patients.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than legalized marijuana) is considered illegal.



Getting caught with scales or balances used for weighing marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable with a year in prison for a first offense.



A second offense will get you charged with a felony carrying a sentence of up to 7 years and max. fine of $5,000.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



nyccriminallawyer.com/drug-crimes/possession-of-drug-paraphernalia/





https://codes.findlaw.com/ny/penal-law/pen-sect-220-50.html

Learn More

New York only recognizes in-state cardholders and does not offer reciprocity to out-of-state cardholders at this time.



Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal and consumption in a vehicle is not allowed, neither while driving nor while riding as passengers.



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/new-york-law/new-york-marijuana-laws.html



https://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/medical_marijuana/regulations.htm



 



 

Hemp products are legal in North Carolina.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

N/A

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

N/A

Cost for a Medical License

N/A

How much can you grow?

N/A

Fines / Cost

N/A

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in North Dakota.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Patients can obtain up to 3 ounces of usable marijuana

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus
Acquired immune deficiency syndrome
Decompensated cirrhosis caused by hepatitis C
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Posttraumatic stress disorder
Agitation of Alzheimer's disease or related dementia
Crohn's disease
Fibromyalgia
Spinal stenosis or chronic back pain, including neuropathy or damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
Glaucoma
Epilepsy
A terminal illness
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or treatment for such disease or medical condition that produces one or more of the following: • Cachexia or wasting syndrome • Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures for more than three months or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects • Intractable nausea • Seizures • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis.

Cost for a Medical License

N/A

How much can you grow?

N/A

Fines / Cost

The criminal laws relating to marijuana are relatively severe, and even the possession of less than half an ounce of the herb is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Possession of more than one ounce bumps the charge up to a felony, while the sale of more than 100 pounds can result in a prison term of up to 20 years.

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A