be smart. know the law.

find your state

Medicinal, Recreational and Hemp products are legal in Maine.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Qualified patients and their designated caregivers can possess up to two-and-a-half ounces (2.5 oz), or 70.87 grams. Adults 21 and older years can possess two-and-a-half ounces (2.5 oz), or 70.87 grams.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Cancer HIV/AIDS Glaucoma hepatitis C Crohn’s disease amyotrophic lateral sclerosis nail-patella syndrome Alzheimer’s disease cachexia or wasting syndrome severe nausea chronic intractable pain irritable bowel syndrome severe and persistent muscle spasms including multiple sclerosis seizures including epilepsy Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Cost for a Medical License

No cost

How much can you grow?

6 cannabis plants, or commercially licensed

Fines / Cost

Possession of marijuana in Maine is punished by the amount of weed the person has, as follows: Up to 2.5 ounces – No penalty 2.5 to 8 ounces – Class E crime that can be sentenced to up to six months in jail and a fine up to $1,000 8 to 16 ounces – Class D crime punished by up to one year in jail and a $2,000 1 to 20 pounds – Class C crime (presumed to be trafficking or furnishing after 1 pound) penalized by up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine Over 20 pounds – Class B crime subject to up to 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine If the material is actually industrial hemp, such as used to make rope or clothing, it’s not a crime.

Consumption Rules

Consuming cannabis on public or federal land is strictly prohibited and illegal in Maine. Recreational marijuana may only be consumed on private property, out of public view.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



1111-A. Use of drug paraphernalia

"Drug paraphernalia" means all equipment, products and materials of any kind that are used or intended for use in planting, propagating, cultivating, growing, harvesting, manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, processing, preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, repackaging, storing, containing, concealing, injecting, ingesting, inhaling or otherwise introducing into the human body a scheduled drug.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



This drug paraphernalia does not apply to a person who is authorized to possess marijuana for medical use pursuant to Title 22, chapter 558-C, to the extent the drug paraphernalia is used for that person's medical use of marijuana; to a person who is authorized to possess marijuana pursuant to Title 28-B, to the extent the drug paraphernalia is used for that person's adult use of marijuana; or to a marijuana store licensed pursuant to Title 28-B, to the extent that the drug paraphernalia relates to the sale or offering for sale of marijuana by the marijuana store.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than legalized marijuana) is a civil offense for which no less than a fine of $300.00 may be assessed and none of which may be suspended by the court.  With surcharges and assessments, that equates to a minimum of $380.00.



If you sell or furnish drug paraphernalia to a person under the age of 16, that's a class D misdemeanor for which you can be jailed for up to 364 days and fined a maximum of $2,000.00



If you sell or furnish drug paraphernalia to a person 16 years old or older, that's a class E misdemeanor for which you can be jailed up to 6 months and fined a maximum of $1,000.00



REFERENCE WEBSITES



legislature.maine.gov/statutes/17-A/title17-Asec1111-A.html



https://www.williamblylaw.com/sale-and-use-of-drug-paraphernalia

Learn More

While recreational use of marijuana is legal to a certain extent, amounts greater than 2.5 ounces per person are still illegal, as is the public consumption of the herb.



https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/mmm/documents/2018-MMP-Rules.pdf

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in Maryland.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

For each 30-day period, qualifying patients have access of up to 4.23 ounces, or 120 grams of dried cannabis. Similarly, patients are limited to 36 grams of THC extract per month.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Anorexia Cachexia Chronic or Severe pain Glaucoma Persistent muscle spasms PTSD Seizures Severe nausea

Cost for a Medical License

50

How much can you grow?

Only state-approved growers are allowed to grow cannabis in Maryland.

Fines / Cost

Under 10 grams: Fine only (Fine of up to $100 for a first offense, up to $250 for a second offense, and up to $500 for subsequent offenses.) 10 grams to 50 pounds:Misdemeanor with potential punishments of 1 year in prison and/or $1,000 in fines. Note: Third-time offenders and individuals under 21 years of age will be required to undergo a clinical assessment for substance abuse disorder and a drug education program.

Consumption Rules

Approved patients can consume cannabis via smoking, vaporizers, extracts, topicals, tinctures and as add-ons to food, though edibles are not sold in Maryland dispensaries. Cannabis consumption must take place on private property.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



ILLEGAL



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



5-619. Drug paraphernalia



To determine whether an object is drug paraphernalia, a court shall consider, among other logically relevant factors:



(1) any statement by an owner or a person in control of the object concerning its use;



(2) any prior conviction of an owner or a person in control of the object under a State or federal law relating to a controlled dangerous substance;



(3) the proximity of the object, in time and space, to a direct violation of this section or to a controlled dangerous substance;



(4) a residue of a controlled dangerous substance on the object;



(5) direct or circumstantial evidence of the intent of an owner or a person in control of the object to deliver it to another who, the owner or the person knows or should reasonably know, intends to use the object to facilitate a violation of this section;



(6) any instructions, oral or written, provided with the object concerning its use;



(7) any descriptive materials accompanying the object that explain or depict its use;



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



N/A



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



A first time offense for possession of paraphernalia carries maximum penalty is a fine of $500.



The penalty for a second conviction of possession of drug paraphernalia increases substantially. Instead of a fine and no jail time for a first offense, a second or subsequent conviction has a maximum penalty of 2 years in jail, and a $2,000 fine.



A first offense for delivery or sale carries the same maximum penalty as possession, but rises substantially if it was sold to a minor 3 years younger than the defendant. A violation of this section of the statute has a maximum prison sentence of 8 years and a fine of up to $15,000.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



mdtriallawyer.com/possession-of-drug-paraphernalia.html



https://law.justia.com/codes/maryland/2016/criminal-law/title-5/subtitle-6/part-iii/section-5-619/

Learn More

Non-residents of Maryland who are not registered as medical marijuana patients with the state are not allowed to purchase medical cannabis.



https://mmcc.maryland.gov/Pages/law.aspx



http://www.dsd.state.md.us/COMAR/subtitle_chapters/10_Chapters.aspx#Subtitle62

Medicinal, Recreational and Hemp products are legal in Massachusetts.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

The amount of medical marijuana a patient may purchase is currently limited to a 60 day supply of up to 10 ounces from a dispensary with each prescription. Adults 21 and older, as well as patients and their caregivers, are allowed to possess 10 ounces, or 283.5 grams, of cannabis inside their homes, and less than one ounce (1 oz.), or 28.35 grams, in public.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

AIDS Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) Cancer Crohn's disease Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV Multiple sclerosis (MS) Parkinson's disease

Cost for a Medical License

50

How much can you grow?

Any individual above 21 years of age may grow up to six (6) plants per person or up to twelve (12) plants per household in their home. Medical marijuana patients ages 18-20 are also permitted to grow up to six (6) plants in their home. For more than two adults 21 and older, six (6) plants are permitted.

Fines / Cost

N/A

Consumption Rules

Cannabis can be consumed on private property, but marijuana products cannot be smoked, eaten, or vaped in public.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 94C, Section 32I, it is illegal for a person to sell, possess or purchase with the intent to sell, or manufacture with intent to sell drug paraphernalia knowing that it would be used to plant, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture process, prepare, convert, ingest or otherwise introduce into the human body an illegal controlled substance.



Massachusetts uses a very broad definition as what can constitute drug paraphernalia. Generally speaking, it can be any equipment that is used by drug dealers to help create and prepare illegal narcotics for sale. It can also be any equipment that is used for the ingestion of illegal substances by drug users. Regardless of the reason for the equipment, the charge is a serious one. If you are faced with such a crime, it is crucial that you speak with an experienced attorney immediately.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than legalized marijuana) is a civil offense. If you are found guilty of a unlawful drug paraphernalia offense, you can be sentenced between one and two years in a house of correction. You can also have a fine imposed between the amounts of $500 and $5000.



If you are found guilty of selling drug paraphernalia to anyone under the age of 18, then you could be imprisoned in a state prison for anywhere between three and five years. You would also face a fine between $1000 and $5000.



ADDITIONAL COMMENTS



Separation gins and sifters used in removing twigs and seeds or otherwise cleaning or refining marijuana;

Blenders, bowls, containers, spoons and mixing devices used in compounding controlled substances;

Capsules, balloons, envelopes and other containers used in packaging small quantities of controlled substances;

Containers and other objects used in storing or concealing controlled substances;

Metal, wooden, acrylic, glass, stone, plastic or ceramic pipes, with or without screens, permanent screens, hashish heads or punctured metal bowls;

Water pipes; carburetion tubes and devices; smoking and carburetion masks; chamber pipes; carburetor pipes; electric pipes; air-driven pipes; chillums; bongs; ice pipes or chillers; wired cigarette papers;



REFERENCE WEBSITES



malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXV/Chapter94C/Section32I



https://www.ekglawyers.com/drug-paraphernalia.html



 

Learn More

Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Neither drivers nor passengers may consume marijuana in a vehicle.



The State of Massachusetts does not allow reciprocity for medical marijuana, but adults 21 and older may purchase recreational products.



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/massachusetts-law/massachusetts-marijuana-laws.html



https://www.mass.gov/lists/medical-use-of-marijuana-laws-regulations-and-guidance



https://www.mass.gov/info-details/massachusetts-law-about-marijuana-possession

Medicinal, Recreational and Hemp products are legal in Michigan.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Michigan Recreational Cannabis Possession Limits: - Up to 2.5 ounces away from home - Up to 10 ounces at home - No more than 15 grams of cannabis concentrates Michigan Medical Marijuana Equivalents: -16 ounces of marijuana-infused products in solid form -7 grams of marijuana infused product in gaseous form -36 fluid ounces of marijuana-infused product in liquid form

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Nail Patella Seizures Severe & Chronic Pain Severe & Persistent Muscle Spasms Severe Nausea Any other medical condition approved by the Department of Community Health

Cost for a Medical License

60

How much can you grow?

Adult 21 years of age or older to legally cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants in their residence. It is permissible for qualified patients or caregivers to cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants as well.

Fines / Cost

For now, Michigan marijuana laws treat possession of any amount as a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to $2,000. But this will change after the voter-approved Proposal 1 is certified.

Consumption Rules

Recreational cannabis is legal in Michigan, but that doesn't mean adults of age can consume marijuana everywhere. Public cannabis consumption is strictly illegal in Michigan, as is driving under the influence of marijuana.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



333.7451 “Drug paraphernalia” defined.



“Drug paraphernalia” means any equipment, product, material, or combination of equipment, products, or materials, which is specifically designed for use in planting; propagating; cultivating; growing; harvesting; manufacturing; compounding; converting; producing; processing; preparing; testing; analyzing; packaging; repackaging; storing; containing; concealing; injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing into the human body a controlled substance.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



Any marijuana, marijuana paraphernalia, or licit property that is possessed, owned, or used in connection with the medical use of marihuana, as allowed under this act, or acts incidental to such use, shall not be seized or forfeited.



The patient and the patient's primary caregiver will not be prosecuted or penalized, if any, were engaged in the acquisition, possession, cultivation, manufacture, use, delivery, transfer, or transportation of marihuana or paraphernalia relating to

the use of marihuana to treat or alleviate the patient's serious or debilitating medical condition or symptoms of

the patient's serious or debilitating medical condition.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Michigan doesn’t currently have a state law that makes it a crime to possess marijuana paraphernalia. However, individual cities, townships, or counties may have ordinances on their books that address paraphernalia possession. Paraphernalia possession is a crime under some local laws. It also can be a civil matter that results in a fine, or in temporary loss of access to your property.



For example, Detroit is one of the places where it’s a crime to possess marijuana or other drug paraphernalia under city law. Detroit makes paraphernalia possession a misdemeanor offense. If you’re convicted, the penalty includes up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 under city law.



As another example, in Grand Rapids possession of drug paraphernalia may result in your residence being declared a public nuisance if there are repeated offenses. When a property has been declared a public nuisance, the city can order that you vacate the property and prohibit anyone from occupying the property for up to 1 year. You also may be liable for any costs associated with the city padlocking or boarding up your property.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



legislature.mi.gov/(S(03hqzucd505agt1xha2tjcds))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-333-7451



http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(0thyplqw1eqilfnrufjnwsvl))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-initiated-law-1-of-2008.pdf

Learn More

Transporting recreational and medical marijuana in Michigan is legal for qualified patients, caregivers and adults of age as long as the marijuana or marijuana-infused products being transported are:



- In a sealed and labeled package

- In the trunk of the car



https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_79571---,00.html



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/michigan-law/michigan-marijuana-laws.html

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in Minnesota.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Qualified patients can possess a 30-day supply.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Acute Pain Cancer, associated with severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting syndrome Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Tourette’s syndrome ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) or Lou Gehrig’s Disease Seizures, including those characteristic of Epilepsy Severe and persistent muscle spasms Multiple sclerosis Crohn’s disease Terminal illness with a life expectancy of less than one year: if your illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain; nausea or severe vomiting; or cachexia or severe wasting Intractable pain or chronic pain PTSD Sleep Apnea Autism

Cost for a Medical License

250

How much can you grow?

Cultivation is not allowed.

Fines / Cost

Less than 42.5 grams: petty misdemeanor ($200 and possible drug education program) 42.5 grams - 10 kilograms: felony (up to 5 yrs. and $5,000); 10 - 50 kilograms: felony (up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000) 50 - 100 kilograms: felony (up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000); 100+ kilograms: felony (up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000) Subsequent offense: depends on level of prior offense; if misdemeanor, may be required to participate in chemical dependency evaluation and treatment; more than 1.4 grams inside one's vehicle, except for the trunk: misdemeanor (up to 90 days in jail and/or $1,000 fine).

Consumption Rules

When allowable, cannabis may be consumed in by medical marijuana patients in a private residence. Public consumption is not allowed.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



ILLEGAL



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Minnesota Statute 152.01 outlines drug paraphernalia as:

"Drug paraphernalia means all equipment, products, and materials of any kind which are knowingly or intentionally used primarily in (1) manufacturing a controlled substance, (2) injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing into the human body a controlled substance, (3) testing the strength, effectiveness, or purity of a controlled substance, or (4) enhancing the effect of a controlled substance.”



(a) It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to use or to possess drug paraphernalia. Any violation of this section is a petty misdemeanor.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



N/A



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



State considers paraphernalia possession a 'petty misdemeanor,' meaning you'll face no jail time and a fine of no more than $300 for getting busted.



A person who violates paragraph (a) and has previously violated paragraph (a) on two or more occasions has committed a crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for up to 90 days or to payment of a fine up to $1,000, or both.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.092



https://brunolaw.com/resources/drug-related-charges/what-is-considered-a-drug-paraphernalia-crime-in-minnesota

Learn More

http://www.health.state.mn.us/topics/cannabis/rulemaking/index.html



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/minnesota-law/minnesota-marijuana-laws.html

Hemp products are legal in Mississippi .

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

N/A

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

N/A

Cost for a Medical License

N/A

How much can you grow?

N/A

Fines / Cost

N/A

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A

Medicinal products are legal in Missouri.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Patients and their caregivers may not carry more than the legal limit of 20 fluid ounces, or 591.5 mL, of low-THC hemp extract. However, if a Missouri physician has signed a waiver, patients may legally obtain and possess more than 20 fluid ounces, or 591.5 mL, of CBD oil.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

-Cancer - Epilepsy - Glaucoma - Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment - A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome - Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress disorder, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist - Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome - A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication - Any terminal illness; or - In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia and wasting syndrome.

Cost for a Medical License

$25 initially for a state license

How much can you grow?

It is illegal to cultivate cannabis for any purpose in Missouri. Only state-approved growers are allowed to grow cannabis in Missouri.

Fines / Cost

Possession of up to ten grams for first-time offenders is Class D misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500, but no jail time. Possession of over 10 grams but less than 35 grams is a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000. Second-time marijuana possession offenses are also classified as a Class A misdemeanor offense, even if the quantity possessed is under 10 grams. Possession of 35 grams- 30 kilograms* is a Class D felony which is punishable by up to 7 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000. *Depending on facts, possession of more than 35g, but less than 30kg, has often, historically, been charged as intent to distribute. Same as Distribution penalties below.



 

Consumption Rules

When allowable, cannabis may be consumed in by medical marijuana patients in a private residence.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for medical marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAWS ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Missouri Laws 579.074



A person commits the offense of unlawful possession of drug paraphernalia if he or she knowingly uses, or possesses with intent to use, drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into the human body, a controlled substance or an imitation controlled substance in violation of this chapter or chapter 195.



 

Learn More

Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Neither drivers nor passengers may consume marijuana in a vehicle.



Reference Websites:



https://health.mo.gov/safety/medical-marijuana/faqs.php



http://devnew.norml.org/laws/item/missouri-penalties-2



kansascity.com/opinion/editorials/article221737235.html





https://www.missourinet.com/2018/11/20/federal-law-to-block-missouri-medical-marijuana-users-from-owning-a-gun/

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in Montana.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

1 ounce

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Cancer, Glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (HIV/AIDS)when the condition or disease results in symptoms that seriously and adversely affect the patient’s health status;
cachexia or wasting syndrome;
severe chronic pain that is persistent pain of severe intensity that significantly interferes with daily activities as documented by the patient’s treating physician and by:
objective proof of the etiology of the pain, including relevant and necessary diagnostic tests that may include but are not limited to the results of an x-ray, computerized tomography scan, or magnetic resonance imaging; or
confirmation of that diagnosis from a second physician who is independent of the treating physician and who conducts a physical examination;
intractable nausea or vomiting;
Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy;
epilepsy or an intractable seizure disorder;
Multiple sclerosis;
Crohn’s disease;
painful peripheral neuropathy;
a central nervous system disorder resulting in chronic, painful spasticity or muscle spasms;
admittance into hospice care in accordance with rules adopted by the department; or
any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition approved by the legislature.
* Chronic Pain
* Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

Cost for a Medical License

75

How much can you grow?

4 mature plants; 12 seedings

Fines / Cost

up to $50,000

Consumption Rules

N/A

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

N/A