be smart. know the law.

find your state

Medicinal and Recreational products are legal in California.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

"Adults ages 21 or older can buy and possess up to one ounce (28.35 grams) of recreational cannabis, and up to eight grams of concentrated cannabis. Medical cannabis patients and their caregivers can possess and transport up to eight ounces (226.8 grams) "

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License


  • Arthritis 

  • Anorexia

  • AIDS

  • Cancer

  • Pain-Chronic

  • Cachexia

  • Ongoing muscle spasms, including those associated with multiple sclerosis 

  • Seizures, including, but not limited to, those associated with epilepsy

  • Severe and chronic nausea

  • Spasticity

  • Glaucoma

  • Migraines

Cost for a Medical License

County programs may charge an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) per Medical Marijuana Identification Card

How much can you grow?

6 mature cannabis plants, or 12 immature plants

Fines / Cost

Anyone caught smoking cannabis in public faces a fine of $100 to $250.

Consumption Rules

"Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space. On-site consumption is permitted inside businesses or spaces which acquired a commercial cannabis consumption license. Furthermore, smoking or vaping in a designated non-smoking area is an infraction." "Driving or riding a bicycle under the influence of cannabis is illegal and consumption in a vehicle is not allowed, neither while driving nor while riding as passengers. The law allows for non-resident adults who have a valid driver’s license, state or federal ID to purchase marijuana for recreational use."

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for Marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Under California Health and Safety Code 11634, it is unlawful to possess an opium pipe or any device, contrivance, instrument, or paraphernalia used for unlawfully injecting or smoking a controlled substance. 



This includes glass pipes, ceramic pipes, metal pipes, glass vials, razor blades, lighters, tin foil, or spoons. These are devices generally used to smoke or inject illegal drugs. In some cases, possession of needles is not a criminal offense which is intended to encourage clean needle use and avoid transmission of HIV and other diseases.



Possession is not limited to items found directly on your person, in your pocket, or in a backpack. Possession includes constructive possession.



Even if the drugs or paraphernalia belongs to another person, you may be arrested for possession.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



POSSESSION OF PARAPHERNALIA TO SMOKE MARIJUANA:



After the passage of Proposition 64, marijuana paraphernalia is excluded from HS 11364. It is lawful in California for adults over the age of 21 to use marijuana for recreational purposes. Possession of the devices used to smoke marijuana is generally not a criminal offense. 



However, in some cases, individuals may use a device to smoke both marijuana and an illegal drug.

If a pipe or other device is used for both legal and illegal drugs, possession may result in criminal charges.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than for marijuana) is a misdemeanor in California. If you’re convicted, you face a possible jail sentence of up to six months in county jail. Additionally, you may be required to pay a fine of up to $1,000.



 

Learn More

Reference Websites:



https://cannabis.ca.gov/laws-regulations/



https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/Medial-Marijuana-Identification-Card.aspx



https://vig.cdn.sos.ca.gov/2016/general/en/pdf/prop64-title-summ-analysis.pdf



post.ca.gov/post_docs/resources/proposition-64/Proposition-64-and-POST-Selection-Standards.pdf



gorelick-law.com/possession-of-drug-paraphernalia-in-california



https://www.criminallawyersandiego.com/drug-charges/drug-paraphernalia/





http://cannabusinesslaw.com/2017/12/cannabis-and-gun-law/

Medicinal, Recreational and Hemp products are legal in Colorado.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

"Adults 21 and older may possess up to one ounce (1 oz), or 28.5 grams. Qualifying patients and their caregivers may legally possess up to two ounces (2 oz), or 57 grams, of usable cannabis."

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License


  • Cancer

  • Glaucoma

  • HIV or AIDS

  • Cachexia

  • Persistent muscle spasms

  • Seizures

  • Severe nausea

  • Severe pain

  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Cost for a Medical License

$35

How much can you grow?

6 cannabis plants, or commercially licensed

Fines / Cost

More than 1 - 2 oz $ 100: Open and public displays or uses of 2 oz or less $ 100 More than 2 - 6 oz $700 More than 6 - 12 oz $5,000 More than 12 oz $100,000 It is a felony for anyone to give or sell to, or share marijuana with, anyone under 21.

Consumption Rules

Colorado prohibits consumption of cannabis openly or publicly. You must present a valid ID proving you’re 21 or older.



Limits to buying:



Buy retail marijuana only from licensed retail stores. Adults over the age of 21 can buy and possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana at a time.



Limits to selling:



Only licensed retailers can sell marijuana products. Adults over 21 can give up to 1 ounce of marijuana to another adult 21 or older, but can’t sell marijuana. This includes homegrown product.



Public use is illegal:



Using marijuana in any way — smoking, eating or vaping — isn’t allowed in public places. This includes the following outdoor and indoor areas, and many more: Sidewalks. Parks and amusement parks. Ski resorts. Concert venues. Businesses. Restaurants, cafes or bars. Common areas of apartment buildings or condominiums.



Use on federal land is illegal:



Since marijuana is still illegal under federal law, you can’t use on federal land, including national parks and national forests. This includes ski slopes. It is illegal to consume cannabis in a motor vehicle and it is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis.



Where you CAN use:



Private property is your best bet. However, property owners can ban the use and possession of marijuana on their properties. If you rent, you may not be allowed to use marijuana in your home. Hotel owners can ban the use and possession of marijuana on their properties, so you may not be able to use in a hotel room. Be sure to research the places you’ll be staying in Colorado. Drug testing at work: Despite legalization, employers can still test for marijuana and make employment decisions based on drug test results. Be sure you know your workplace policies before you use.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for Marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



As used in sections 18-18-425 to 18-18-430, unless the context otherwise requires:

(1) "Drug paraphernalia" means all equipment, products, and materials of any kind which are

used, intended for use, or designed for use in planting, propagating, cultivating, growing,

harvesting, manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, processing, preparing, testing,

analyzing, packaging, repackaging, storing, containing, concealing, injecting, ingesting, inhaling,

or otherwise introducing into the human body a controlled substance in violation of the laws of

this state.



Colorado 18-18-428 C.R.S.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



Drug paraphernalia does not include marijuana accessories

Colorado 18-18-428 C.R.S. specifically excludes  “marijuana accessories” from the definition of drug paraphernalia.



The Colorado constitution defines “marijuana accessories” as “equipment, products, or materials of any kind which are used, intended for use, or designed for use in planting, propagating, cultivating, growing, harvesting, composting, manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, processing, preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, repackaging, storing, vaporizing, or containing marijuana, or for ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing marijuana into the human body.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than for medical marijuana) is a Colorado class 2 petty offense if you know or reasonably should know that the drug paraphernalia could be used to violate Colorado drug laws.



The punishment for possession of drug paraphernalia is a fine of up to $100.



&a

Learn More

Reference Websites:



https://www.colorado.gov/marijuana

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/marijuana/legal-marijuana-use-colorado



coloradoindependent.com/2016/01/28/guns-marijuana-colorado/



https://www.coloradoan.com/story/news/2016/11/22/94272854/



colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DrugParaphanailia.pdf



https://www.shazamlaw.com/blog/2017/01/colorados-drug-paraphernalia-law-is-very-specific.shtml



https://www.shouselaw.com/colorado/drugs/CO_drug_paraphernalia.html



 



 

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in Connecticut.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Patients may possess up to two-and-a-half ounces (2.5 oz.), or 56.7 grams, of cannabis per month.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Cancer, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Parkinson’s disease, Multiple sclerosis, Epilepsy Cachexia wasting syndrome Crohn’s disease post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Postlaminectomy syndrome with chronic radiculopathy severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis amyotrophic lateral sclerosis ulcerative colitis complex regional pain syndrome

Cost for a Medical License

$100 for a medicinal license

How much can you grow?

Home cultivation is prohibited in Connecticut. Commercially licensed producers can cultivate cannabis.

Fines / Cost

Possession Less than 1/2 oz (first offense)



Civil Penalty No Incarceration up to $ 150 Fine Less than 1/2 oz (subsequent offense)



Civil Penalty No Incarceration up to$ 500 Fine 1/2 - 4 oz (first offense)



Civil Penalty 1 year Incarceration up to $1,000 Fine 1/2 - 4 oz (subsequent offense)



Civil Penalty 5 years Incarceration up to $ 3,000 Fine More than 4 oz (first offense)



Civil Penalty 5 years Incarceration up to$ 2,000 Fine More than 4 oz (subsequent offense)



Civil Penalty 10 years Incarceration up to $ 5,000 Fine Medical marijuana delivery services are unavailable in Connecticut. No reciprocity is offered to out-of-state residents.

Consumption Rules

Connecticut registered patients may consume their cannabis medicine only in private spaces.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



Connecticut General Statutes 21a-240 (20)

 “Drug paraphernalia” refers to equipment, products and materials of any kind which are used, intended for use or designed for use in planting, propagating, cultivating, growing, harvesting, manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, processing, preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, repackaging, storing, containing or concealing, or ingesting, inhaling or otherwise introducing into the human body, any controlled substance contrary to the provisions of this chapter..........



Connecticut General Statutes 21a-267

No person shall use or possess with intent to use drug paraphernalia, as defined in subdivision (20) of section 21a-240, to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain or conceal, or to ingest, inhale or otherwise introduce into the human body, any controlled substance, as defined in subdivision (9) of section 21a-240, other than a cannabis-type substance in a quantity of less than one-half ounce. Any person who violates any provision of this subsection shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



N/A



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Getting busted with cannabis paraphernalia in the Constitution State counts as a civil infraction carrying a fine of up to $300 — so long as you only intend to smoke half an ounce or less.



But if it looks like you're trying to smoke more than that, you'll get slapped with a misdemeanor punishable with up to 3 months in jail and a max. fine of $500.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



lawserver.com/law/state/connecticut/ct-laws/connecticut_statutes_21a-267



https://www.lawserver.com/law/state/connecticut/ct-laws/connecticut_statutes_21a-240



https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/rpt/pdf/2016-R-0273.pdf

Learn More

REFERENCE WEBSITES



https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Agency-Administration/AA-Legislation-and-Regulations/Laws-and-Regulations



cga.ct.gov/2016/rpt/pdf/2016-R-0239.pdf



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/connecticut-law/connecticut-marijuana-laws.html