be smart. know the law.

find your state

Hemp products are legal in Alabama.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Cannabis is currently not legal in your state for medicinal or recreational use.
Get out and Vote to change the laws in Alabama.

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Patients with debilitating epileptic conditions can use CBD as part of state-sponsored clinical trial at the University of Alabama in Birmingham.

Cost for a Medical License

Not available in your state

How much can you grow?

ILLEGAL

Fines / Cost

There are two degrees or levels of unlawful possession of marijuana in Alabama. First degree is possessing marijuana for something other than personal use or for personal use after a previous conviction of unlawful possession of marijuana. This is a Class C felony (the lowest level of felony in Alabama). This can get you between 1 and 10 years in prison and up to a $15,000 fine.

Possession of pot for personal use is only a Class A misdemeanor (the highest misdemeanor in Alabama). This is possession in the second degree. A Class A misdemeanor can be sentenced to not more than a year in jail and up to a $6,000 fine.

Consumption Rules

ILLEGAL

Paraphernalia Laws

N/A

Learn More

https://statelaws.findlaw.com/alabama-law/alabama-marijuana-laws.html



https://www.criminaldefenselawyer.com/resources/open-and-concealed-gun-carry-laws-alabama.htm

Medicinal, Recreational and Hemp products are legal in Alaska.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Up to 1 oz. (28.35 grams)

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

- Cancer - Glaucoma - HIV/AIDS - Any chronic or debilitating disease - Cachexia - Chronic or severe pain - Severe nausea - Seizures including those that are characteristic of epilepsy persistent muscle spasms including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis

Cost for a Medical License

25

How much can you grow?

12 plants in a household with two adults 21+, or no limit with commercial license

Fines / Cost

Alaska law prohibits the home delivery of cannabis products to consumers. Public cannabis consumption is prohibited throughout the state. Possible fine up to $400

Consumption Rules

"Adults looking to consume cannabis onsite are limited to purchase one (1) gram, or 0.035 ounce, or less per transaction. Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space."

Paraphernalia Laws

STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Neither the Controlled Substances Act nor the entire Alaska Administrative Code includes a drug paraphernalia provision. Several Alaska cities, however, do have drug paraphernalia ordinances.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Numerous municipalities have ordinances which restrict the possession or distribution of drug paraphernalia including;



Fairbanks (misdemeanor for possession)

Anchorage (subject to a civil penalty of not less than $50.00 and not more than $1,000.00 for each offense or injunctive relief to restrain the person from continuing the violation or threat of violation, or both injunctive relief and a civil penalty)

Ketchikan (noncriminal public nuisance subjecting violator to injunction in Superior Court)



REFERENCE WEBSITES



temple.edu/lawschool/aidspolicy/AKRWJweb.htm



 



 

Learn More

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Director/Pages/marijuana/law.aspx



dps.alaska.gov/statewide/r-i/permitslicensing/firearm-faq



https://www.adn.com/highly-informed/article/can-alaskans-drive-bag-weed-and-gun-if-uncle-sam-isnt-riding-shotgun/2016/02/14/

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in Arizona.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

up to 2.5 ounces every two weeks

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

- Glaucoma - Cancer - HIV/AIDS - Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) - Severe and chronic pain - Severe nausea

Cost for a Medical License

150

How much can you grow?

Patients who live 25 miles or further from a dispensary are allowed to grow up to 12 plants per registered patient. These plants must be kept in an enclosed, locked container out of public view.

Fines / Cost

up to $150,000

Consumption Rules

Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for medical marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Arizona code A.R.S §13-3415 states that it’s illegal to possess anything that allows one to use, prepare, plant or do a number of other things related to drugs.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



The qualifying patient and the qualifying patient's designated caregiver, if any, were engaged in the acquisition, possession, cultivation, manufacture, use or transportation of marijuana, paraphernalia or both, relating to the administration of marijuana solely to treat or alleviate the qualifying patient's debilitating medical condition or symptoms associated with the qualifying patient's debilitating medical condition.



ILLEGAL POSSESSION PENALTIES



Possession of drug paraphernalia (other than for marijuana) is a misdemeanor in Arizona.



Illegal Actions: deliver, possess with intent to deliver, or manufacture with intent to deliver, drug paraphernalia, knowing, or under circumstances where one reasonably should know, that it will be used” by someone for any of the above listed things.



Possession of drug paraphernalia is a class 6 felony. Although this is the lowest form of felony charge, it is punishable by up to 2 years in prison if the defendant has no prior criminal convictions. With a prior criminal conviction, the defendant can be sentenced up to 6 years in prison.



1st or 2nd Non-Violent Offense: Diversion programs and/or suspended sentence.



1st or 2nd Offense (not qualified for diversion): Up to 2 years in jail, fines and informal probation.



3 or more offenses: Up to 6 years in jail, fines and informal probation.



ADDITIONAL COMMENTS



Defining Paraphernalia in Arizona



Any instrument or item used in close connection with illegal drugs can be considered paraphernalia. Simply possessing such an item is enough for a drug paraphernalia charge. In determining whether a spoon is just a spoon, or drug paraphernalia, a court considers all logically relevant factors, including:



Statements by an owner or by anyone in control of the object concerning its use.

Prior convictions, if any, of an owner, or of anyone in control of the object, under any state or federal law relating to any drug.

The proximity of the object, in time and space, to other prohibited items.

The proximity of the object to drugs.

The existence of any residue of drugs on the object.

Direct or circumstantial evidence of the intent of an owner, or of anyone in control of the object, to deliver it to persons whom he knows, or should reasonably know, intend to use the object to facilitate a violation of this chapter.

Expert testimony concerning its use.



REFERENCE WEBSITES



azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/13/03415.htm&Title=13&DocType=ARS



https://www.jacksonwhitelaw.com/criminal-defense-law/possession-drug-paraphernalia/



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/arizona-law/arizona-drug-paraphernalia-laws.html

Learn More

https://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php#rules-statutes



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/arizona-law/arizona-marijuana-laws.html



azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php#rules-statutes



avvo.com/legal-answers/should-i-purchase-a-gun-with-my-ccw-after-i-got-my-3655078.html



https://www.gunstocarry.com/gun-laws-state/arizona-gun-laws/

Medicinal and Hemp products are legal in Arkansas.

Amount of Cannabis Allowed

Medical marijuana patients are allowed 2.5 ounces bi-weekly(every 14-days).

Conditions To Qualify for a Medicinal License

Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease) Cancer Crohn’s disease Fibromyalgia Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Tourette’s syndrome Ulcerative colitis Or, a chronic or debilitating medical condition that produces one or more of the following symptoms: Cachexia/wasting syndrome Peripheral neuropathy Intractable pain that has not responded to ordinary medical measures Severe Nausea Seizures including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of multiple sclerosis

Cost for a Medical License

50

How much can you grow?

Qualifying registered patients and their designated caregivers cannot grow or cultivate medical marijuana. Marijuana-infused products must be purchased through the Arkansas medical marijuana dispensaries.

Fines / Cost

Less than 4 oz., 1st offense: Class A misdemeanor (max. 1 yr., $2,500 fine); 1-4 oz., and any subsequent offense: Class D felony (max. 6 yrs., $10,000 fine); 4 oz. - 10 lbs.: max. 6 yrs., $10,000 fine; 10-25 lbs.: mandatory min. 3 yrs - max. 10 yrs. and $10,000 fine; 25-100 lbs.: mandatory min. 5 yrs. - max. 20 yrs. and $15,000 fine; 100-500 lbs.: mandatory min. 6 yrs. - max. 30 yrs. and $15,000 fine.

Consumption Rules

Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space.

Paraphernalia Laws

IS DRUG PARAPHERNALIA LEGAL OR ILLEGAL?



LEGAL (for Marijuana purposes; in general its illegal)



STATE LAW ON DRUG PARAPHERNALIA



Arkansas code § 5-64-443 - Drug paraphernalia.



(a) A person who possesses drug paraphernalia with the purpose to use the drug paraphernalia to inject, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled substance in violation of this chapter upon conviction is guilty of:



(1) A Class A misdemeanor;  or



(2) A Class D felony if the controlled substance is methamphetamine or cocaine.



(b) A person who uses or possesses with the purpose to use drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, or conceal a controlled substance that is methamphetamine or cocaine upon conviction is guilty of a Class B felony.



(c) A person who uses or possesses with the purpose to use drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, or conceal a controlled substance that is not methamphetamine or cocaine upon conviction is guilty of a Class D felony.



LEGAL POSSESSION RULES



Once a court decides that you have paraphernalia, the next question is how severe the charge will be.

This brings in two more considerations:



what type of drug the item may have been used with and how the item is used.  As with most other drug laws, the penalty is based on the classification of the drug.

So, if the paraphernalia is used for smoking marijuana, then the penalty is only a Class A misdemeanor in Arkansas. 



But, if the item is used to produce or conceal marijuana, then the offense is a Class D felony.  Likewise, if the drug is meth or cocaine, paraphernalia used for consuming the drug is a Class D felony but items used to produce or conceal cocaine or meth carry a Class B felony.



The Natural State isn't too harsh on paraphernalia unless you have a green thumb. Getting busted with a pipe could get you up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. But if you get caught with cultivation equipment, you're looking at up to 6 years in prison plus a $10,000 fine.



ADDITIONAL COMMENTS



Under Arkansas law, “drug paraphernalia” can be just about anything.  The statute defining paraphernalia includes the lab equipment type items one would expect.  However, it also lists common household items such as “a blender, bowl, container, spoon, or mixing device…, a capsule, balloon, envelope, or other container…” and “a water pipe….”



When deciding whether something is drug paraphernalia, the issue centers around the intended use of the item: whether it is for drug use.  For example, a pipe is specifically listed as drug paraphernalia but a pipe can be used legally for tobacco and, when being used for tobacco, is not drug paraphernalia.

Learn More

On November 8, 2016, the state legalized medical marijuana when voters passed Issue 6 by 53%.



The state of Arkansas allows reciprocity, which means medical marijuana patients with valid recommendations from other states can access medical marijuana in Arkansas provided they fill out a visiting patient form and can provide proof of out-of-state registration. 



Reference Sites



https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov//programs-services/topics/medical-marijuana-resources



https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/rules/Medical_Marijuana_Emergency_Rule_4-27-2017_(Signed).pdf



kark.com/news/local-news/medical-marijuana-means-losing-your-second-amendment-right/769178613



https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov//programs-services/topics/medical-marijuana-resources



https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/rules/Medical_Marijuana_Emergency_Rule_4-27-2017_(Signed).pdf



https://www.thv11.com/article/news/local/questions-still-linger-over-medical-marijuana-and-gun-ownership-in-arkansas/91-572542964



https://statelaws.findlaw.com/arkansas-law/arkansas-marijuana-laws.html



PARAPHERNALIA REFERENCE WEBSITES



codes.findlaw.com/ar/title-5-criminal-offenses/ar-code-sect-5-64-443.html



https://joycelaw.us/what-is-drug-paraphernalia/



https://www.uaex.edu/business-communities/voter-education/Issue%206%20-%20Full%20Text.pdf